The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

What It Is & Who It's For

The Duke of Edinburgh is a wonderful compliment to the IB CAS program, which all Grammar students complete as a graduation requirement. The program is designed for students between the ages of 14 and 24 and is an exciting personal challenge for young Canadians. It is a balanced, non-competitive programme of voluntary activities which encourages: personal discovery and growth, self-reliance, perseverance, responsibility and service to the community.

How to Achieve an Award

To achieve an Award, each participant must complete four sections:

  1. Community Service—encourages young people to become an active member of their community providing a service to others
  2. Skill Development—encourages young people to discover new abilities and interests or improve upon existing talents
  3. Physical Recreation—encourages young people to get active, improve overall fitness and lead a healthy active lifestyle
  4. Adventurous Journey—encourages young people to cultivate a spirit of adventure, discovery, self-reliance and environmental conservation while undertaking a wilderness or adventure experience
There are 3 levels: Bronze, Silver & Gold

For more information, please go to: