Student Experience

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

What It Is & Who It's For

The Duke of Edinburgh is a wonderful compliment to the IB CAS program, which all HGS students complete as a graduation requirement. The program is designed for students between the ages of 14 and 24 and is an exciting personal challenge for young Canadians. It is a balanced, non-competitive programme of voluntary activities which encourages: personal discovery and growth, self-reliance, perseverance, responsibility and service to the community.

How to Achieve an Award

To achieve an Award, each participant must complete four sections:

  1. Community Service - encourages young people to become an active member of their community providing a service to others
  2. Skill Development - encourages young people to discover new abilities and interests or improve upon existing talents
  3. Physical Recreation - encourages young people to get active, improve overall fitness and lead a healthy active lifestyle
  4. Adventurous Journey - encourages young people to cultivate a spirit of adventure, discovery, self-reliance and environmental conservation while undertaking a wilderness or adventure experience
There are 3 levels: Bronze, Silver & Gold

For more information, please go to: